Animals / Sammie and Cleo

Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

When I saw companionable for this week’s WordPress photo challenge, I thought immediately of my precious Sammie, my sweet companion of 7 years who sadly is no longer with me.  She sat by my side through thick and thin.  When I was sick, she did not leave my side.  When she was sick, I did everything to save her, but was unable to in the end.  I miss her every day, and dedicate this photo challenge to her!

I first picked Sammie up from the humane society 8 years ago.  She was so tiny, she looked so cute and vulnerable.  Her gorgeous little eyes implored me to rescue her from her 2 messy brothers who shared her cage.

A home is not a home without a Sammie

Her exuberance for life was tough to keep under wraps.  At first, she was an inside cat.  I didn’t want her to go outside – I wanted to protect her!  But, it was impossible to keep her in.  There were many sleepless nights on my side where she was off exploring at night, opting to not come home.  She brought me far too many gifts – mice, a live chipmunk and a few rabbits.  She was a spunky little thing, unlike her sister who was more than content to sit on the sofa, look pretty and sleep!  They were like chalk and cheese.  As much as Sammie was my companion, Cleo was hers.  I would come home after a long day out and find the two of them curled up on the chaise, content after a tough day of sleeping!

Cleo and Sammie

Cleo and Sammie

Sammie – we miss you!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

    • Mine too…I still miss her and wish she was here! I could use a cuddle from her as I go through some tough times! I was blessed to have had 7 years with her – her companionship will never be forgotten!

Leave a comment