Ottawa

Photo Essay: deserted railway bridge across the Ottawa River

The sense of adventure extends to the world for me, but there are days where I like to explore my own backyard!  Camera bag in hand, I set off along the Ottawa River with no idea what my theme for the day would be.  Then, I found a hole in the fence and the world of the old train bridge opened before my eyes!

photos from the railway bridge crossing the Ottawa River

I am sure this was once a very busy track, but now it lays dormant, frequented by people out walking and running rather than trains.

photos taken on the old Railway Bridge crossing the Ottawa River

Playing with depth of field and details in the structure.

photos taken on the old Railway Bridge crossing the Ottawa River

The graffiti artists have not missed this bridge.  I love the close up shot…the rusting metal, peeling paint and the simple details of the rivets in the girders.Graffiti on the old Railway Bridge, Ottawa

It was a perfect day to be out…the sun was shining, the sky was blue, and after so many cold and windy days, there was no wind!  The water was so calm…I love this shot of the melting ice, water and Parliament Hill off in the distance.

views of Ottawa from the old railway bridge on the Ottawa River

Related Links – photos in and around Ottawa:

7 thoughts on “Photo Essay: deserted railway bridge across the Ottawa River

    • Thanks…was a fun day out. My only objective as I started to walk was to play with the camera. I had a whole series of river shots as I walked to the bridge…but once I was on the train tracks, I knew where I was going! Should do that more often!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Summer – a photo essay from Canada’s Capital Region | Travel Destination Bucket List

Leave a Reply

